3 minute read
This section is only available for the Super Administrator role.
Domain and email cleanup is a way to clean up large quantities of shared files.
This means that for the selected domain or external email address, all sharing permissions will be unshared in one go. There may, however, be memberships of shared drives or groups that prevent certain permissions from being revoked.
If you are cleaning up a large number of files the operation will take some time, but you will be notified via email when completed.
This is, of course, a tool that needs to be handled with care, but that can be highly effective when it comes to cutting shares with an entire external company or a specific external user.
There are four steps to doing a bulk cleanup:
- Choose which email addresses or domains you want to unshare from
- Review drive membership permissions
- Review group membership permissions
- Initiate the actual cleanup
The four steps are listed as a progress bar at the bottom of the section.
1. Choose which email addresses or domains you want to unshare from
The first step is to pick which external user or domain you want to clean up. You do that by filling in the search field and clicking Search. You can search for either email address or domain.
You can also choose to also include files with extended share by ticking Included files with extended sharing.
The search will provide an overview of how many shares will potentially be affected by the cleanup in each row.
If you have searched for an entire domain, you may want only to bulk unshare a subset of the users. Simply tick those users. If you want to unshare all, do not tick any.
When you're satisfied with the list, click Next.
2. Review drive membership permissions
Next step is to review the list of domains and emails with access to shared drive files through membership. I.e. any drive membership permissions that may infringe on the unsharing of some of the files chosen in step 1.
If you need to inform or consult with a colleague about any of the drive memberships, you can go ahead and download a report by clicking Download. This will give you a .csv file detailing the shared drive membership of the users.
Click Next to move to step 3.
3. Review group membership permissions
The next step is to review any group membership permissions that the external user or users have that may infringe on the unsharing.
If you need to inform or consult with a colleague about any of the group memberships, you can go ahead and download a report by clicking Download. This will give you a .csv file detailing the group membership of the users.
Click Next to move to step 4.
4. Initiate the actual cleanup
Now that you have chosen which user or domain you want to clean up and are aware of those individual shares that will remain shared (if any), you can do the actual unshare.
You do this by clicking Yes, confirm cleanup.
We are now removing all possible file permissions from the selected emails and domains. This procedure may take a while to finish, but you will receive an email once completed.
Please sign in to leave a comment.