4 minute read
The Users and delegation section lists all the active accounts in your Google Workspace - blocked or suspended accounts will not show up here. Delegated administrators will only see the active accounts in their delegated organizational units.
Activating users in Tricent is done in your Google Workspace Admin, but in this area, you can look into the properties of the individual user from a Tricent perspective. This includes whether cleanup is enabled for the individual user and information about any roles as administrator or delegated administrator.
Portal access means whether or not the user is enabled in Tricent altogether. A disabled user will be disregarded by the cleanup engine. You can disable a user using an exception in My Drive cleanup.
Use the Search field to locate individual users by name or email address or sort the list to reveal, for instance, the most sharing users by clicking the column headers.
Clicking the pencil icon () on a user will pull in a side panel that goes into more detail on the user, and if you are Super Administrator, you can also assign the Administrator role to the user.
This area is only available to Super Administrators.
A delegated administrator can create exceptions for the designated organizational units and see sharing statistics and logs for users in the units they administer.
You turn on delegated administration by toggling Enable delegated administration.
Then click Delegated administration to promote users' to delegated administrators.
Delegation happens at group level, so no users are displayed in this section. Rather, you set up groups in your Workspace and add users there. You then connect groups with organizational units here.
1. Use the search field to locate the group whose members you want to grant delegated administrator rights and click the pencil icon.
2. Then tick the organizational units that you want the group's members' given delegated administrator rights to. If you have lots of organizational units you can use the search field to locate the ones you want to select.
Click Save changes to put the changes into production.
Delegated administrators will receive a notification email explaining their new role. Should new users later be added to the group, they will also receive the email.
Note that users with the role Super Administrator or Administrator will retain this role if they are part of a group that receives delegated administrator rights.
When a user has delegated administrator rights, you will see two read-only overviews of their roles when you look at their user profile in the Users list:
This list gives a read-only overview of the organizational units the user is delegated administrator of. This is set in Google Workspace Admin.
This list gives a read-only overview of the organizational units the user is delegated administrator of through the user's membership of a group.
Please sign in to leave a comment.