5 minute read
When you have extended or unshared files in the web-overlay, you are taken to a confirmation page from where you can access the Tricent tool in a browser. This is the place to look at and manage all of your externally shared files.
You can also access the Tricent tool through app.tricent.com - just use your organization's Google login.
There are three areas in Tricent for Google Workspace.
Let's look at them one by one.
The Dashboard area
The Dashboard area contains two sections.
Up top you find the section Sharing Statistics that displays how many files you had shared over the past seven days broken down into internal and external shares and safelisted items. You also see three wheels that show you what files you share the most, who you share the most with, and the domains you share with the most.
Below you find Shared Files. This area lists all of your externally shared files that are eligible for cleanup. You can revoke or extend those shares with a few clicks. When you extend a shared file it is placed on your so-called safelist, and will not be considered for cleanup.
Incidentally, the section Shared Files may also contain Shared Drives, if you have been given cleanup responsibility for one of more of them. Shared Drives will be a separate tab.
You can locate a specific file by using the type tool and the search field. If you are unsure about the file content, you can click the eye icon in the column View. This will take you to the actual file on your Google Drive.
When you click a file from the list, you are presented with a pop-up that lists who the file is shared with and their permissions.
You can select all or just some users and click the Unshare selected button to unshare the files shared with these individuals.
You can also choose to extend the file share using the blue Extend filesharing button, selecting either a preset duration or clicking the date at the bottom and setting a date. Note that your administrators may have set a maximum extension period that will limit the choice of custom dates.
You can, of course, also work on more than one file at a time by selecting the files and clicking Edit.
This will prompt a new pop-up window.
Once again, you can unshare the files here by clicking the red Unshare selected files button, or you can extend the file shares for a defined period.
Your extended shares are in the Safelist area
This area gives you an overview of the files you have manually extended the sharing of. The column Expiry date indicates when the safelisting of that individual file will stop.
Like with other lists in Tricent, clicking one or more files (and then Edit) will prompt a pop-up window, where you can either extend the sharing period or remove the safe listing. Removing the safe listing takes the file back to be included in the clean-up cycle that your admins have set.
The column Expiry date indicates when your safelisted items will once again be returned to the cleanup cycle - i.e. when the extension of the share expires. You will also be notified about this by email.
Past events and roll back in the History area
This is a simple log of the safelisting, removal of safelisting, sharing and unsharing events.
You can sort the events by type using the dropdown Action. And if you combine that with the date interval tool and the search field you'll find an event in no time.
By clicking a safelisted item, you can remove the safelisting right here. And if you want to roll back an unshare, you can also do that.
To roll back an unshare, simply tick the files in the list, click Edit and then Roll back changes.
Ticking Notify people will prompt Google's standard notification email to the individuals the file has now been reshared with. Note that this feature only applies to emails on the gmail domain, all other external shares will receive a notification regardless of an unticked box.
The resharing of the files will now appear as events in the list.